He was nominated but didn’t get the hardware for the top prize.

Cowichan-Langford-Malahat NDP MP Alistair MacGregor was nominated for McLean’s Parliamentarian of the Year award in the Most Collegial category.

He was one of three finalists, along with fellow Vancouver Island politician, Rachel Blaney, the member of parliament for the North Island-Powell River, and Monique Pauze of the Bloc Quebecois.

Pauze took the top prize at the Chateau Laurier in Ottawa Monday.