The Cowichan Valley’s first elected School Board since the province dismissed the previous Trustees in 2012 will include former Chair Candace Spilsbury and several members of her “Students First” team including former trustees Barb De Groot, Cathy Schmidt, Joe Thorne as well as former long-time Ladysmith mayor Rob Hutchins.
Spilsbury says Hutchins will be a huge addition to the SD79 board.
The new board also includes Elizabeth Croft and Randy Dorman.
Another team, calling itself “Your Four”, made up of former trustees Deb Foster and Ellen Oxman along with Kayla Barrett and Connie Buckner was shut out.