It was an evening of celebration at Duncan’s city hall to welcome a new council that will be leading the city for the next four years.
Incumbent mayor Phil Kent and councillors Sharon Jackson, Michelle Bell, Michelle Staples and Tom Duncan returned and were joined by newcomers Roger Bruce and John Horgan.
Kent says Monday’s inaugural meeting was also about handing out the Perpetual Trophy of Excellence and Sportsmanship to a late valley resident.
Hamilton passed away last summer at the age of 82.
In addition, Nick Versteeg took home the Perpetual Arts Trophy and Jack Faber was honoured with the Scroll of Honour.